Physician-Scientist Institutional Award

Grant Recipients

2018 Physician-Scientist Institutional Award

University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
Principal Investigator:  Dwight Arnold Towler, M.D., Ph.D.
Title:  Training Resident Doctors as Innovators in Science
This residency-focused initiative will develop two-year, laboratory-based research programs in Pediatrics, Surgery, and Internal Medicine, with formalized mentorship augmented by specialized training, faculty expertise and technology platforms in the Dallas/Fort Worth Metroplex.  The new program harmonizes and synergizes institution-wide growth in a culture of enthusiasm for residency research.  It will continuously support the research residency-fellowship-faculty career transitions for trainees, encompassing the appointment of trainees as faculty upon attainment of a K or equivalent career development award.

Duke University Medical Center
Principal Investigator:  Rasheed A. Gbadegesin, M.D.
Title:  The Duke Integrated MD-Scientist Program
This program will create an Office of Physician Scientist Development to coordinate oversight of M.D. (only) scientist development from medical school through junior faculty. Initiative to be implemented will be concierge mentoring, basic research training program using a flipped classroom curriculum, M.D. (only) funding, and integrated training pathways.

Vanderbilt University
Principal Investigator:
  James R. Goldenring, M.D., Ph.D.
Title:  Supporting Careers in Research for Interventional Physicians and Surgeons
This program addresses the issue that surgeons and procedure-based physicians are underrepresented among basic science researchers. Characteristics of this program are introduction of medical students to the possibilities for basic research careers in surgical and interventional specialties, extended protected research time for residents and fellows, alleviation of financial uncertainty (loan repayment), dedicated mentorship, and continued research productivity during the completion of clinical training.

Stanford University
Principal Investigator:  Paul J. Utz, M.D.
Title:  Stanford/BWF Scholars Program
This 6-year program will establish a 3-year medical school preclinical curriculum that blends preclinical courses and intensive research experiences. Rigorous lab and data science projects will be pursued, followed by a 4th year of full time research, then completion of clinical training in years 5 and 6. Scholars will enter short-track residency programs to prepare for careers as clinically-active physician scientists.

University of Pittsburgh
Principal Investigator:  Mark Gladwin, M.D.
Title:  The University of Pittsburgh Physician Scientist Incubator
This proposal allows for three entry points: 1) MS4 students from medical student physician scientist training program (PSTP) track; 2) Post-PGY1 resident; 3) Fellowship (with or without T32 support).  Focus is on building laboratory science skillset.   Initiatives for Scholars include technical instruction, data analysis and experimental design, transactional skills, career/resilience coaching, time banking, technician option upon transition back to clinic.

2017 Physician Scientist Institutional Award
Planning Grant Recipients

Albert Einstein College of Medicine of Yeshiva University
Myles Hugh Akabas, M.D., Ph.D.
Different People, Different Pathways: Recruitment and Training of Medical Students and Physicians for Research Careers in Psychiatry

Columbia University
Michael L. Shelanski, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor and Chairman
The Doctor of Medical Science-A Rigorous and Efficient Program for Training Physician Scientists at Columbia University

Duke University School of Medicine
Michael D. Gunn, M.D.
Assistant Professor
An Integrated Multi-level Physician Scientist Development Program

Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
Rosalind J Wright, M.D.
Dean and Professor
Strengthening the Medical Research Chain: Linkage Programs to Enhance Physician-Scientist Success

Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
Kathleen H. Burns, M.D., Ph.D.
Associate Professor and Vice Chair
Physician-Scientist Training Program (PSTP) at Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine

McGill University
Mark J Eisenberg, M.D.
Integrated Physician-Scientist Training Pathway

New York University School of Medicine
Mark R. Philips, M.D.
BWF Physician-Scientist Enrichment Program

Northwestern University
Douglas E. Vaughan, M.D.
Training a biomedical physician workforce to develop tomorrow's cures for today's diseases

Oregon Health and Science University
Jeanne-Marie Guise, M.D.
A Blueprint for the Early Detection and Development of the Physician Scientist

Stanford University
Paul J. Utz, M.D.
Associate Professor
Stanford - Burroughs Wellcome Fund (BWF) Scholars Program

Temple University
Susan G Fisher, Ph.D.
Temple Physician-Scientist Training, Education, and Mentorship program

Texas A&M University
David P. Huston, M.D.
Academy of Physician-Scientists

Tulane University School of Medicine
Marie Krousel-Wood, M.D.
Tulane Mentoring Architecture for Physician Scientists - MAPS

University of California-Davis
Frederick J. Meyers, M.D.
Professor and Chair
University of California Davis Research Program in Medical Education (UCD Research-PRIME)

University of California-Los Angeles
Deborah Krakow, M.D.
The Untapped Scientific Workforce: A Proposal to Cultivate Future Female MD Scientists

University of California-San Diego
Gary S. Firestein, M.D.
Fostering the Physician-Scientist Pipeline at UC San Diego

University of California-San Francisco
Scott A Oakes, M.D.
Building an MD-only Physician-Scientist Incubator at UCSF

University of Colorado-Denver
John E. Repine, M.D.
TRIAD Strategy for Creating Physician-Scientists

University of Iowa
Jeffrey C. Murray, M.D.
BWF Physician-Scientist Institutional Award Planning Grant

University of Michigan-Ann Arbor
Kathleen Loretta Collins, M.D., Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Development of a unique pathway for the training of physician scientists at the University of Michigan

University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill
Janet Rubin, M.D.
Developing MD Researchers at UNC School of Medicine

University of Pennsylvania Perelman School of Medicine
Lawrence F Brass, M.D., Ph.D.
Increasing opportunities for MD physicians interested in research careers

University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine
Richard A. Steinman, M.D., Ph.D.
Associate Professor
University of Pittsburgh Planning Grant for BWF Physician Scientist Institutional Award

University of Rochester
Martin Stuart Zand, M.D., Ph.D.
University of Rochester Physician-Scientist Fellowship Program

University of Texas Medical Branch-Galveston
Peter Clay Melby, M.D.
Training of Physicians for Global Infectious Diseases Research

University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center-Dallas
Dwight Arnold Towler, M.D., Ph.D.
The UT Southwestern TARDIS Program: Training Residents Doctors As Innovators in Science

University of Toronto
Norman David Rosenblum, M.D.
Training New Cohorts of Physician Scientists at University of Toronto Medicine: Novel Strategies to Engage and Train 'Late Bloomers'

Vanderbilt University
James R. Goldenring, M.D., Ph.D.
Supporting Careers in Research for Interventional Physicians and Surgeons (SCRIPS)

Washington University
Wayne M. Yokoyama, M.D.
Professor of Medicine, Pathology, and Immunology
The New Division of Medical Sciences at Washington University

Weill Medical College of Cornell University
Gary Koretzky, M.D., Ph.D.
Vice Dean
Weill Cornell Medicine Physician-Scientist Academy