Burroughs Wellcome Fund Supports STEM Teaching Excellence in North Carolina

6 June 2011

RESEARCH TRIANGLE PARK, N.C.--The Burroughs Wellcome Fund’s Board of Directors approved awards for six science and mathematics teachers in North Carolina.
The recipients of the second class of the Career Awards for Science and Mathematics Teachers include two mathematics teachers, two elementary teachers, and one charter school teacher.
The award provides $175,000 over three years to be used for professional development, classroom lab supplies, and salary support.  The award seeks to develop the teachers into the future classroom leaders in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics education (STEM) in North Carolina.
“Our children’s teachers are vital for creating and maintaining a lifelong interest in STEM learning,” BWF President Dr. John Burris said.  “We’re proud to provide career support for these individuals to make an impact across the state of North Carolina.”
Listed below are the recipients of the 2011 Career Award for Science and Mathematics Teachers, including titles, schools, and counties:

Wendy Elizabeth Bartlett
Mathematics Teacher
Parkland Magnet High School 
Winston-Salem/Forsyth County Schools
Michael J. Bowman, Ed.D.
Science Teacher and Department Chair
North Buncombe High School 
Buncombe County Schools
Gregory Scott Fisher
Mathematics Teacher
Mount Tabor High School 
Winston-Salem/Forsyth County Schools
Heather M. Kaiser
Science Lab Teacher
Pauline Jones Elementary 
Cumberland County Schools
Stuart Thomas Miles
Lead 7th and 8th Grade Science Teacher
Evergreen Community Charter School 
Charter in Buncombe County
Amanda Northrup
Riverbend Elementary School 
Haywood County Schools