BWF Announces the 2009 Career Award for Medical Scientists Recipients

15 May 2009

The Burroughs Wellcome Fund has announced the 2009 recipients of the Career Awards for Medical Scientists.

The Career Award for Medical Scientists is a five-year $700,000 bridging award, supporting the last years of a mentored position in addition to supporting the beginning years of an independent position.  BWF believes the award will facilitate the physician-scientist's transition to a career in research.

Awards are offered to the individual investigator on behalf of the research institutions in the United States or Canada.

Since CAMS inception in 2007, a total of 43 awards have been made for an investment of more than $30 million in the careers of physician-scientists.  Of the 43 awardees, 22 have received faculty positions.

"The physician scientist is a critical player within the research enterprise," BWF President Dr. John Burris said.  "By supporting them early in their careers we hope to increase their continued participation within the physician scientist work force."    

The 2009 Career Awards for Medical Scientists are:

Chester Drum, M.D., Ph.D.
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Protein nanoparticles for small molecule drug delivery

Pradipta Ghosh, M.D.
University of California-San Diego
Modulation of G-protein activity during oncogenic and metastatic progression

Matthew Vander Heiden, M.D., Ph.D.
Harvard Medical School
Metabolic control of cancer cell proliferation by pyruvate kinase M2

Quyen T. Nguyen, M.D., Ph.D.
University of California-San Diego
Testing surgery guided by molecular fluorescence imaging

Ann Zovein, M.D.
University of California-Los Angeles
Hemogenic endothelium: hematopoietic stem cell emergence from the vasculature

For more information:
Russ Campbell, Communications Officer
Telephone: (919) 991-5119