BWF Announces 2009 Investigators in the Pathogenesis of Infectious Disease

14 May 2009

The Burroughs Wellcome Fund has announced the recipients of the 2009 Investigators in the Pathogenesis of Infectious Disease award.

The Investigators in the Pathogenesis of Infectious Disease award provides $500,000 during a five-year period to encourage multidisciplinary approaches to investigating pathogenesis. BWF launched the program in 2002 and has made 78 awards for an investment of more than $33 million in the careers of assistant professor-level researchers who are working on understanding the interactions between the human host and the infectious agent–bacterial, viral, fungal, or parasitic.

All awardees hold tenure-track faculty positions and must be nominated by degree-granting institutions in the United States or Canada.

"Infectious diseases remain a concern to global health," BWF President Dr. John Burris said.  "We are proud to support the work of creative investigators who study the crucial interaction between the host and the microbe."

Following are the 2009 award recipients, along with their institutions and research projects:

Jen-Tsan Ashley Chi, M.D., Ph.D.
Duke University Medical Center
Sequence determinant of the Plasmodium falciparum gene regulation by human microRNAs   

K. Heran Darwin, Ph.D.
New York University School of Medicine
Ubiquitin-like proteins in bacterial pathogens

Denise Monack, Ph.D.
Stanford University
Host-pathogen interactions during persistent Salmonella infection   

Maya Saleh, Ph.D.
McGill University
Regulation and molecular mechanisms of NLR-mediated innate immunity

Erica O. Saphire, Ph.D.
Scripps Research Institute
Arenavirus GP:  architecture, receptor binding sites, and immune recognition   

Russell Vance, Ph.D.
University of California-Berkeley
Innate immune cytosolic immunosurveillance pathways for sensing bacterial pathogens

For more information:
Russ Campbell, Communications Officer
Telephone: (919) 991-5119