NC Teachers Recognized for Excellence in Science and Mathematics Teaching

RESEARCH TRIANGLE PARK, N.C. –Six North Carolina public school teachers were recently honored as recipients of the Burroughs Wellcome Fund Career Award for Science and Mathematics Teachers

“We are delighted that this recent cohort exhibits the leadership qualities that have made this program so successful,” said President Dr. John Burris.  “Not only does this award provide support for the teachers, but the schools benefit greatly as well.  These teachers serve as models for their peers, students and the public.”

The Career Award for Science and Mathematics Teachers was created in 2008 to help expand the leadership of quality science and mathematics teachers in North Carolina. The purpose of this award is to recognize teachers who have demonstrated solid knowledge of science and/or mathematics content and have outstanding performance records in educating children. 

The award provides $175,000 over five years for professional development, salary, and equipment and supplies for the recipient’s school. Including this year’s recipients, there are 20 teachers who currently hold this honor across North Carolina.

This year’s recipients of the Career Awards for Science and Mathematics Teachers are:

Tomika R. Altman-Lewis
Fayetteville Street Elementary School
Durham Public Schools

Katie Mauldin Matthews
Valle Crucis School
Watauga County Schools

Jennifer Michelle McCarthy 
Jay M. Robinson High School
Cabarrus County Schools

Jodi S. Riedel
Wakefield High School
Wake County Public Schools

John D. Scarfpin    
Havelock High School
Craven County Schools

Rolie 'Andi" Adrienne Webb                  
Alderman Road Elementary
Cumberland County Schools


Media Contacts:  

Alfred Mays, program officer  amays [at[

Russ Campbell, communication officer  news [at]