Recipients named for the 2011 Career Award for Medical Scientists

RESEARCH TRIANGLE PARK, N.C. -- During its May meeting, the Burroughs Wellcome Fund Board of Directors approved 10 recipients for the 2011 Career Awards for Medical Scientists.  The 10 awards represent an investment of $7 million in the early stage careers of physician scientists.
The Career Award for Medical Scientists is a five-year $700,000 award for physician-scientists to bridge advanced postdoctoral training and the early years of faculty service. The award was first offered in 2006.  This is the fourth award cycle and the first since the award was temporarily halted in 2010 due to the economic downturn.

Often with more focus on translating research into practical applications and therapies, the physician scientist plays an important role of connecting research and the patient.  However, because of the multifaceted nature of the physician scientist, there is little early career support. 
“The Career Award for Medical Scientists hopes to encourage physician scientists to continue in research,” said BWF President Dr. John Burris.  “They play an increasingly vital role in health research and care.”

List below are the 2011 recipients, their institutions, and project titles:

Karin Elisabeth Finberg, M.D., Ph.D.
Duke University School of Medicine
Identification of Novel Genetic Regulators of Mammalian Iron Homeostasis
Karunesh Ganguly, M.D., Ph.D.
University of California-San Francisco
Control of a Complex Neuroprosthetic Device using Electrocorticography
Douglas Sun Kwon, M.D., Ph.D.
Harvard Medical School
New technologies for the study of HIV mucosal immunity and compartmentalization in the female genital tract
Nikhil Vilas Munshi, M.D., Ph.D.
University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center-Dallas
Genomic Approaches to Understanding the Cis-Regulatory Architecture of the Atrioventricular Node
Stacey Lynn Rentschler, M.D., Ph.D.
University of Pennsylvania
Role of notch signaling in preexcitation and arrhythmias
Joshua Marc Shulman, M.D., Ph.D.
Harvard Medical School
Exploring the Genetics of Parkinson's Disease in Humans and Drosophila
Eric Lee Snyder, M.D., Ph.D.
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Regulation of lung cancer progression by the cell fate determinant Nkx2.1
Christopher Ryan Vakoc, M.D., Ph.D.
Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory
Identifying epigenetic vulnerabilities in chemotherapy-resistant leukemia
Kevin Chun-Kai Wang, M.D., Ph.D.
Stanford University
Mechanisms of transcriptional regulation by long noncoding RNAs in partnership with chromatin modifying complexes
Duane Robert Wesemann, M.D., Ph.D.
Harvard Medical School
Extramedullary B Cell Development in the Gut Lamina Propria

MEDIA/PIO Contact:  Russ Campbell at

A complete listing of CAMS recipients can be found here:  [LINK]