Investigators in the Pathogenesis of Infectious Disease

Letter of Intent Deadline:

Jul 18, 2024





Now Accepting Applications

Eligibility & Application Process:

The competition will employ a two-stage process.

Request for Proposals

Advisory Committee

Craig E. Cameron, PhD
Professor and Chair of Microbiology and Immunology
University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill

Blossom Damania, PhD (Co-Chair)
Professor of Microbiology & Immunology and Vice Dean for Research
University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill

Maurizio Del Poeta, MD
Professor,  Department of Molecular Genetics & Microbiology
Stony Brook School of Medicine

Joanne Engel, MD, PhD
Professor, Departments of Medicine and Microbiology and Immunology
Chief, Division of Infectious Disease
Co-Director, Integrative Microbiology program
University of California San Francisco

Katherine A. Fitzgerald, PhD
Professor, Department of Medicine
University of Massachusetts Medical School

Michael Glickman, MD
Member, Immunology Program
Attending Physician, Infectious Diseases
Alfred P. Sloan Chair
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center

Christopher A. Hunter, PhD 
Professor of Pathobiology 
University of Pennsylvania School of Veterinary Medicine 

Denise Kirschner, PhD
Professor, Department of Microbiology and Immunology
University of Michigan School of Medicine

Manuel Llinas, PhD
Distinguished Professor of Biochemistry & Molecular Biology and of Chemistry
Penn State University

Carolina Lopez, PhD
Professor and BJC Investigator in Molecular Microbiology
Washington University School of Medicine

Daniel Mucida, PhD
Professor and Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute
The Rockefeller University

Eric Skaar, PhD, MPH (Co-Chair)
Director, Vanderbilt Institute for Infection, Immunology, and Inflammation (VI4)
Ernest W. Goodpasture Professor
Vice Chair for Basic Research
Chief, Division of Molecular Pathogenesis
Vanderbilt University Medical Center

Additional members may be added to the committee.

Award Timeline

Jul 18, 2024

Letter of Intent Deadline

Oct 04, 2024

Invitation to Submit a Full Proposal

Nov 14, 2024

Application Deadline

Apr 28 - 30, 2025

Finalist Interviews

May 31, 2025

Notice of Award

Jul 01, 2025

Award Start Date

Jun 30, 2030

Award End Date

Program Contacts

Victoria McGovern, Ph.D.

Senior Program Officer


Darcy Lewandowski

Program Associate

Kendi Kajogo

Program Coordinator