Career Awards at the Scientific Interface

Pre-Proposal Deadline:

Sep 01, 2021





Now Accepting Applications

Eligibility & Application Process:

For a full explanation of the eligibility requirements, view the Request for Proposals.

Request for Proposals

Advisory Committee

Anne Churchland, PhD
Professor, Department of Neurobiology
University of California-Los Angeles

Todd Coleman, PhD
Professor of Bioengineering
University of California-San Diego

Jennifer Elisseeff, PhD
Professor and Director, Translational Tissue Engineering Center
Wilmer Eye Institute
Depts of Biomedical Engineering, Orthopedic Surgery, Chemical and Biological Engineering, and Materials Science and Engineering
Johns Hopkins University

Loren Frank, PhD
Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute
Professor, Sandler Neurosciences Center
University of California-San Francisco

Robert E. Kass, PhD
Maurice Falk Professor of Statistics and Computational Neuroscience
Department of Statistics, Machine Learning, and the Center for Neural Basis of Cognition
Carnegie Mellon University

Melissa Lambeth Kemp, PhD
Wallace H. Coulter Department of Biomedical Engineering
Georgia Institute of Technology and Emory University

Andrea Liu, PhD
Hepburn Professor of Physics
Department of Physics and Astronomy
University of Pennsylvania

Alison Marsden, PhD
Associate Professor
Departments of Bioengineering and Pediatrics
Institute for Computational and Mathematical Engineering
Stanford University

Matthew R. Redinbo, PhD
Kenan Distinguished Professor
Departments of Chemistry, Biochemistry, Microbiology and Genomics
University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill

Shyni Varghese, PhD
Professor of Biomedical Engineering, Mechanical Engineering & Materials Science and Orthopaedic Surgery
Duke University

Additional members may be added to the committee.

Award Timeline

Sep 01, 2021

Pre-Proposal Deadline

Nov 19, 2021

Invites for full proposal

Jan 07, 2022

Application Deadline

May 03, 2022


May 04, 2022


Jun 01, 2022

Notice of Award

Jul 01, 2022

Award Start Date

Jul 30, 2027

Award End Date

Program Contacts

Kelly Rose, PhD

Program Officer


Melanie Scott

Melanie Scott

Senior Program Associate