North Carolina teachers receive Promoting Innovations in Science and Mathematics Awards

26 March 2012

RESEARCH TRIANGLE PARK--There are 42 happy K-12 teaching professionals across North Carolina who recently discovered that they have been awarded a Promoting Innovation in Science and Mathematics (PRISM) Award from the Burroughs Wellcome Fund.

The award provides up to $3,000 for one year to cover the costs of equipment, materials, and supplies. An additional $1,500 may be requested for professional development related to the implementation of the new purchases. These awards total $148,204 to advance STEM learning for North Carolina students.

“We hope these modest awards provide a spark to fuel innovative and creative teaching in science and mathematics,” said BWF President Dr. John Burris.

BWF received 80 eligible applications for the first cycle of PRISM Awards. The next deadline for PRISM Awards is September 5. See for details.

Of the following 42 PRISM Awards, 43 percent were made to elementary teachers, 33 percent to high school teachers, and 24 percent to middle and blended school teachers. PRISM Awards were spread across the state in the Piedmont (55 percent), Mountains (24 percent), and Coastal (21 percent) areas.

Recipients are:

Leigh Horton Austin
Weeksville Elementary School
Elizabeth City/Pasquotank County Schools

Sonja Patricia Brown
Bruns Academy
Charlotte Mecklenburg Schools

Carol Bumgarner
Webb A. Murray Elementary School
Catawba County Schools

Marni Cartiff
Beverly Woods Elementary School
Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools

Roberta Clifton
New Hope Elementary School
Orange County Schools

Marie Antonia Collins
Global Scholars Academy Charter School
Durham County Public Schools

Elizabeth Davis
Global Scholars Academy Charter School
Durham County Public Schools

Lizette Day
Central Elementary School
Orange County Schools

Max Edward Dooley
J.M. Morehead High School
Rockingham County Schools

Kenneth Eaton
Spring Valley Elementary School
Durham County Public Schools

Jennifer Howard Evans
Cape Fear High School
Cumberland County Schools

Deborah Gaul
South Granville High School
Granville County Schools

Sharryl Jean Hagerman
Micaville Elementary School
Yancey County Schools

Staci Hester
Frances Lacy Elementary School
Wake County Public Schools

Brian Hill
Mountain Heritage High School
Yancey County Schools

Michael Wayne Holleman
North Wilkes Middle School
Wilkes County Schools

Gary W. Horton
Red Springs High School
Robeson County Schools

Leigh Ann Hudson
North Pitt High School
Pitt County Schools

Laura E. Ingersoll
School of Inquiry and Life Sciences at Asheville
Asheville City Schools

Meredith Katz
Kannapolis Intermediate School
Kannapolis City Schools

Michael Kolczynski
Rocky River High School
Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools

Margaret P. Ledford
Grover Elementary School
Cleveland County Schools

Bobbie Lynn Lequire
Credle Elementary School
Granville County Schools

Karen Lindley
West Pender Middle School
Pender County Schools

Cristal MacLamrock
Welborne Middle School
Guilford County

Marilee DeLuca Mauser
Rutherford College Elementary School
Burke County Schools

Kathleen Melious
T. Wingate Andrews High School
Guilford County Schools

Shawn Christopher Moore
Hibriten High School
Caldwell County Schools

Rebecca Gayle Myers
Rogers-Herr Middle School
Durham County Public Schools

Mandy Carole Parfitt
Turrentine Middle School
Alamance-Burlington Schools

Nelda G. Phillips
Cane River Middle School
Yancey County Schools

Jessica Prayer
Northside Elementary School
ElizabethCity/Pasquotank Public Schools

Joanne Preece
Wake Forest Elementary
Wake County Public Schools

Laura King Roberson
Riverside High School
Durham County Public Schools

Kelly Lynn Sears
Smith Middle School
Chapel Hill-Carrboro City Schools

Lisa C. Smith
Brevard Middle School
Transylvania County Schools

Linda Sutton
Polk Early College High School
Polk County Schools

Linda P. Tugurian
Forest View Elementary School
Durham Public Schools

Richard Donn White, Ph.D.
Wayne Early Middle College High School
Wayne County Public Schools

Melinda Wiggins
Forest Hills Global Elementary School
New Hanover County Schools

Jennifer Williams
AC Reynolds Middle School
Buncombe County Schools

Brian Wood
W. G. Enloe High School
Wake County Public Schools


Media contact:  Russ Campbell 919-991-5119 or